Press Release
April 30, 2019

Roskilde Festival music programme is completed with 10 new acts


Empire of the Sun, Death Grips, Aurora, Fontaines D.C. and more complete the music programme at the Danish non-profit festival. The full schedule for the 188 acts has also been announced.


Please note: PDF with full schedule attached


The new additions will join artists such as Cardi B, Bob Dylan, Robyn, Chance the Rapper, Travis Scott, The Cure, Rosalía, Vampire Weekend and many more. A total of 188 acts from more than 40 countries will play the festival's 8 stages.


Technicolour pop and the future of punk
Australian pop favourites Empire of the Sun are set to release a new album, and their exclusive summer tour will take them to Roskilde Festival for their only Scandinavian show.

They will play the festival's famous Orange Stage - originally bought from The Rolling Stones in 1978 - on the same day as Travis Scott, local hero MØ and Brazilian samba legend Jorge Ben Jor.


Head of programme Anders Wahrén says:


"We're thrilled to present the last acts and a full music programme with 188 acts from all over the world. We first tried booking Empire of the Sun 10 years ago, and we can't wait to finally see their colourful, overwhelming show on our Orange Stage."


Following last year's Year of the Snitch, Death Grips are ready to conquer new ground with their Roskilde debut. The energetic industrial-noise-punk-rap trio will play the Arena stage - one of the largest tent stages in Europe - on the same day as Underworld, Johnny Marr and Jungle.


The punk attitude is very much alive among other new additions to the programme. Dublin's very own Fontaines D.C. have just released their debut album Dogrel to great acclaim. They will play the classic Pavilion stage on the same day as acts such as Rolling Blackouts Coastal Fever, Ulver and Carpenter Brut.


Melbourne quartet Amyl & the Sniffers will make a racket on the festival's smallest stage, Gloria, on the same day as Stella Donnelly, Tirzah and Crack Cloud, among others.


Shame are back at Roskilde, this time at the theatrical Avalon stage, following a diverse list of acts that day including Sharon Van Etten, Neneh Cherry, Fatoumata Diawara and Jon Hopkins.


Also announced today are Norwegian popstar Aurora, reunited Danish electro-rockers Spleen United, American singer-songwriter Sidney Gish, X-rated rapper cupcakKe and North Macedonia's Džambo Aguševi Orchestra.


There are 8 different music stages at Roskilde Festival, ranging in capacity from about 1,000 to 60,000.


These 10 acts are added to the line-up today:


Death Grips (US)
Empire of the Sun (AU)
Spleen United (DK)
Amyl & the Sniffers (AU)
Aurora (NO)
cupcakKe (US)
Džambo Aguševi Orchestra (MK)
Fontaines D.C. (IE)
Shame (UK)
Sidney Gish (US)


The full arts and activism programme will be announced later in the spring.

  • Tickets to Roskilde Festival are for sale on roskilde-festival.dk. 
  • Full festival tickets are DKK 2100 (approx. EUR 282) (including free access to camping).
  • One-day tickets are DKK 1050 (approx. EUR 141) - only a limited number available for each of the final four festival days.
  • See more on roskilde-festival.dk

Roskilde Festival 2019 lasts for eight days between Saturday 29 June and Saturday 6 July.


About Roskilde Festival:


Roskilde Festival is 100 % non-profit. All profits are donated to social and cultural charities by the Roskilde Festival Charity Society. The festival is right next to the Danish capital of Copenhagen and easily connected by train, bus and flight (Copenhagen Airport).


With more than 180 music acts in the line-up performing on eight stages and over 130,000 passionate music lovers gathered for a full week, Roskilde Festival is one of the most unique festival experiences in the world. A position the festival has held since the early 1970s.


The full festival journey in Roskilde is an eight-day exploration of music, artistic expression, delicious food, sustainability, love, community and party.

Contact information

Martin Hjorth Frederiksen, International Press 
E-mail: press@roskilde-festival.dk
Press phone: +45 30 10 82 81 
Online press room: http://roskil.de/press 
Media Library: http://roskil.de/media


Online media service
On our website you will find contact information, high-resolution photos, press releases, information on accreditation and other materials about Roskilde Festival that you can use for your editorial work.


See you at Roskilde Festival 29 June - 6 July 2019.

Social media icon Social media icon Social media icon
Non-profit since 1972